Capital Conclusion

The hammer to Hay was longer than projected, a gratifying route of farm landscape, and tyres breaking endless mirages once more. Ultimately Hay is in excess of 850km. We draw some relived breaths before gasping sharply inwards apprehending there is an added 120km to go before we reach our final abode. The long awaited ‘Outback Station Corynnia’. This place Corynnia Station is a 17,000 acre busy working property suggested as a great fly in accommodation spot………. we eagerly await laundered linen and a hot hail in the shower. My mind animated with anguish, I feel exasperated at myself for engaging somewhere that seemed so remote, especially in the van. Almost conceding defeat, bogged 17km down a track in the outskirts of nowhere. I learnt a lesson, there is a reason Aussies wear funky rigour boots, thongs simply do not do the deal. Bull ants, muddy, slippery and Aussie salutes galore #battingawaytheflies was a real test of Cooper character, I thought it would be as dry as a Dead dingo’s donger out here. Even the Maths leggings did not formulate or predict this. Willing for the mutty Hilux at this point.

Gritted teeth and desperation we reach Corynnia and bloody oath it was worth the torture. Luxury in the outback, red earth, big blue skies and abundant wildlife including the orphan baby kangaroo.

The farmer is even called Bruce- has his own sheep shed and in my eyes is a real Jackeroo. I could not get photographs on my phone that do the stars justice, but would encourage you to visit these vistas to experience the darkness spotted by the luminous silver shines. All of the kids give this place two thumbs up!

Dawn arrives as our road trip draws to a close. As I look back through my posts I realise that the journey has actually been my saviour. As the West becomes East I tried to move my mindset with the morphing scapes and built some resilience in the girls en route. Maybe it is the journey that teaches you about the destination you are reaching. Once upon a time I would have feared a trip such as this. What I have learnt since moving downunder is that fear can limit you and your vision. It serves as blinders to what maybe just a few steps (or 500Km or so) down the road for you. The journey is always valuable especially in this world of instant gratification.

Stories do not end they just turn in to new beginnings and we arrive in Canberra, the Nation’s Capital. New jobs and schools all around. I look to enrich my life once more by approaching it with a sense of wonder and discovery #challengingmyselfwithnewthings.
#agoodspicychallengestrikesabalancebetweenflavourandfear.

2 thoughts on “Capital Conclusion

  1. Oh wow! I once got stuck in a salt lake that cracked and sucked me down! I lost my favourite pair of thongs. Greg had to drag me out without getting sucked in himself! What an awesome trip Soph., and yes, so much more than just a trip. Best wishes for you all. May many new people enter your lives and share your wonderful journey. Jacqui xx

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.